One table, much stress

I have been trying to get ready for a show I have coming up at the end of November.  Its an inside show, no booth, no grids.  I get one 6′ table and that’s it.  And I need to make the best of it.  How do I make my table stand out among many? What can I sell?  I obviously can’t sell paintings since I have no way to hang them.  I know I can sell my small collages, thank goodness, but what else?  I have been making coasters and I think they will work out fine.  But I want to make sure that they can hold up to regular use.  Nothing I hate more than buying something that looks good but falls apart after using it a few times.  I don’t want to be known for that, for sure. Image

I made 10 coasters and I think they look great but have been experimenting with varnish and hopefully I have found the one that will work.  I checked on them this morning after varnishing them last night and I like how they feel.  They seem sturdy with a solid protective coating.  But I am going to actually use one of them over the next week, just to make sure.  OY, this is stressing me out.

About PainterPaige

I am an abstract painter living in the Washington, DC suburbs. I have always loved to create. I won my first art award in 3rd grade for my “Friends with Animals” poster. The prize was $3 and my poster was hung at city hall for a month. It was a huge deal back in elementary school. I started my first business, Paige’s Painted Floorcloths, in 2006 where I hand-painted canvas floorcloths and sold them on my website, paigespaintedfloorcloths.com and at local art shows. My site is still up and custom floorcloths are still available although I gave up selling at shows a couple of years ago. This past year, I picked up a paintbrush and fell in love with painting all over again. This time I decided to stick to abstract painting on canvas. I am loving every minute of it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

