A weighty issue

Anyone who knows me knows that I have struggled with my weight pretty much my entire life.  I went on Weight Watchers for the first time in middle school.  Back then Weight Watchers was pretty horrible.  You had to eat fish 5x per week- YUCK.  It was fairly tortuous but I would lose the weight and then gain it back, usually within a few months to a year.  I think I have been on WW at least 15 times since and never once did I make it to my goal weight.  My mom on the other hand is a WW success story.  She lost 35 lbs and kept it off until the day she passed away last year almost 30 years later.

With all of the stress of taking care of my mom, running up and back to PA continuously, I put on about 20 lbs this last year. Image

I basically stopped taking care of myself.  I didn’t watch what I ate and didn’t exercise enough.  So after feeling so uncomfortable in my body in August, I went on Ideal Protein.  It has been the most intense weight loss program I have ever been on.  Even worse than WW in the 70’s.  But I have to tell you it works.  I am down almost 20 lbs since and feel so much better.  I still would like to lose another 10-15lbs (so I have some room to play with) but it is getting much harder to stay motivated.  I think I have lost my weight loss mojo.  Its becoming a real struggle.  I’m not sure what changed but I need to get it together.  In the meantime, I thought I would share the success I’ve had so far.Image

I will keep you update on my progress.  In the meantime, pray for me (just kidding).

About PainterPaige

I am an abstract painter living in the Washington, DC suburbs. I have always loved to create. I won my first art award in 3rd grade for my “Friends with Animals” poster. The prize was $3 and my poster was hung at city hall for a month. It was a huge deal back in elementary school. I started my first business, Paige’s Painted Floorcloths, in 2006 where I hand-painted canvas floorcloths and sold them on my website, paigespaintedfloorcloths.com and at local art shows. My site is still up and custom floorcloths are still available although I gave up selling at shows a couple of years ago. This past year, I picked up a paintbrush and fell in love with painting all over again. This time I decided to stick to abstract painting on canvas. I am loving every minute of it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A weighty issue

  1. Anonymous says:

    You are and always have been beautiful on the inside and outside. Hope you are not denying yourself some food pleasures…..life is too short. You always look stunning no matter what the weight. Love you Donna

  2. carol lange says:

    Paigey, haven’t seen you in forever but you’ve always been one of the most gorgeous people I know.

    Carol

  3. Katrina says:

    You look fly no matter the size, but congratulations on your accomplishment!!!

Leave a Reply

